Buscar en
Toda la web
Inicio REEMO Simposio
Información de la revista
Vol. 16. Núm. 5.
Páginas 113-114 (Septiembre 2007)
Descargar PDF
Más opciones de artículo
Vol. 16. Núm. 5.
Páginas 113-114 (Septiembre 2007)
Acceso a texto completo
Información del artículo
Texto completo

35 Simposio Europeo de la ECTS

Barcelona 24-28 de mayo de 2008

Dear Colleagues,

It is with great pleasure that we invite you to participate in the 35th European Symposium on Calcified Tissues, to be held in the exciting city of Barcelona, Spain, from 24-28 May 2008. The 2008 meeting will offer a high quality scientific programme of interest to both clinical and basic scientists. We are expecting around 3000 delegates to attend. Highlights will include the following:

* An exciting programme of invited speaker lectures featuring some of the world's leading experts in the field

* Meet the professor sessions

* Dedicated allied health professionals session

* New - Joint ECTS-ASBMR debate

* A high proportion of submitted abstracts selected for the oral programme (over 15% in 2007)

* Well-attended poster sessions with dedicated poster viewing time

* A busy exhibition area with lunch included in the delegate fee

* Company-supported satellite symposia highlighting some of the latest developments and research

We are delighted to be holding our 2008 meeting in the city of Barcelona, famous for its creativity, vivacity and Mediterranean style! The city is widely known as one of the most exciting in the world and it is sure to attract many participants. The city offers many opportunities for excursions and sight-seeing, with architectural wonders, beautiful parks and inspirational museums, to name just a few.

We hope that you will be able to join us for what promises to be an exciting meeting, both scientifically and culturally, and we look forward to seeing you in Barcelona!



Richard Eastell

ECTS President and Scientific Programme Chair

Nuria Guañabens and Xavier Nogues

Local Organising Committee Co-chairs



­ Advances in the physiopathology, diagnosis, and treatment of bone metastases

­ Bone repair and regeneration FGF23: hypophosphatemia and beyond

­ Genetics of bone disease

­ Long-term effects of antiresorptives

­ Novel targets in osteoarthritis

­ Osteoclast/osteoblast

­ Relationships


­ Arterial calcification

­ Clinical trials

­ In vivo molecular imaging

­ Low bone mass in young adults

­ Notch signalling

­ Osteoimmunology


­ Vitamin D insufficiency

Speakers to include

Maria Luisa Bianchi (Milan, Italy) Heike Bischoff-Ferrari (Boston, USA) Laura Calvi (Rochester, USA) Mike Campbell (Sheffield, UK) Ernesto Canalis (Hartford, USA) Philippe Clézardin (Lyons, France) Robert Coleman (Sheffield, UK) Juliet Compston (Cambridge, UK) Steven Cummings (San Francisco, USA) Maria Dominguez (Alicante, Spain) Marc Drezner (Madison, USA) Jonathan Flint (Oxford, UK) Seiji Fukumoto (Tokyo, Japan) Claus Glüer (Kiel, Germany) Lorenz Hofbauer (Marburg, Germany) Morten Karsdal (Herlev, Denmark) Aliya Khan (Hamilton, Canada) Beate Lanske (Boston, USA) David Little (Sydney, Australia) Joe Lorenzo (Farmington, USA) Clemens Löwik (Leiden, Netherlands) Frank Luyten (Leuven, Belgium) Koichi Matsuo (Keio, Japan) Mary Nakamura (San Francisco, USA) Manuel Naves (Oviedo, Spain) Richard Oreffo (Southampton, UK) Roberto Pacifici (Atlanta, USA) Socrates Papapoulos (Leiden, Netherlands) Ian Reid (Auckland, New Zealand) Pius August Schubiger (Zurich, Switzerland) Elizabeth Shane (New York, USA) Tim Spector (London, UK) André Uitterlinden (Rotterdam, Netherlands) David Wemmer (Berkeley, USA)


Saturday 24 May

Bone Markers

SPEAKERS: Luisa Alvarez (Barcelona, Spain) Pierre Delmas (Lyon, France) Richard Eastell (Sheffield, UK) Bill Fraser (Liverpool, UK) Patrick Garnero (Lyon, France) Nuria Guañabens (Barcelona, Spain) Christian Meier (Basel, Switzerland) Ana Monegal (Barcelona, Spain) Pilar Peris (Barcelona, Spain) Graham Russell (Oxford, UK)

See ECTS website for details


Delegates who would like to present their work at the meeting, either orally or as a poster, are invited to submit an abstract for consideration by the Programme Committee. Clinical cases are also invited. All abstracts must be submitted in English and must be received by 7 December 2007. On-line submission is through the meeting website at www.ectsoc.org and will open on 1 September 2007.


1 September 2007: Abstract submission opens and final announcement published on web

7 December 2007: Deadline for abstracts

8 February 2008: Deadline for early Registrations




Chair: Richard Eastell (Sheffield, UK)

COMMITTEE: Roland Baron (New Haven, USA)Roberto Civitelli (St Louis, USA) Juliet Compston (Cambridge, UK) Adolfo Diez-Perez (Barcelona, Spain) Florent Eleftheriou (Nashville, USA) Serge Ferrari (Geneva, Switzerland) Monique Frain (Geneva, Switzerland) Patrick Garnero (Lyon, France) Carlos Gomez Alonso (Oviedo, Spain) Nuria Guañabens (Barcelona, Spain) Lorenz Hofbauer (Marburg, Germany) Klaus Klaushofer (Vienna, Austria) Peter Lakatos (Budapest, Hungary) Bente Langdahl (Aarhus, Denmark) Lance Lanyon (London, UK) Pierre Marie (Paris, France) Xavier Nogues (Barcelona, Spain) Vladimir Palicka (Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic) Eleftherios Paschalis (Vienna, Austria) Stuart Ralston (Edinburgh, UK) Graham Russell (Oxford, UK) Tim Skerry (Sheffield, UK) Anna Teti (Rome, Italy) Hans van Leeuwen (Rotterdam,Netherlands) Andre van Wijnen (Worcester, USA) Slobodan Vukicevic (Zagreb, Croatia)


Co-Chair: Xavier Nogués

Co-Chair: Nuria Guañabens

COMMITTEE: Jorge Cannata, Luis Del Río, Manuel Díaz-Curiel, Adolfo Díez-Pérez, Carlos Gómez, Jesús González-Macías, Federico Hawkings, Manuel Muñoz, Luis Pérez-Edo, Manuel Quesada, José Ramón Pérez-Cano, Daniel Roig-Escofet, Manuel Sosa



The Alliance for Better Bone Health (Procter & Gamble and Sanofi-Aventis), Amgen, Eli Lilly, MSD, Novartis. Nycomed, Roche/GlaxoSmithKline, Servier


Opciones de artículo
es en pt

¿Es usted profesional sanitario apto para prescribir o dispensar medicamentos?

Are you a health professional able to prescribe or dispense drugs?

Você é um profissional de saúde habilitado a prescrever ou dispensar medicamentos